Holy Habanero

I have to admit…I was a little nervous as I was taking the cage off of this bottle of Viva Habanera from Night Shift Brewing. Knowing that I am a craft beer fanatic and a spicy food fanatic, my wife bought this for me as part of my anniversary present, but I was unsure about habanero peppers in my brewski (or any type of peppers for that matter). Since it’s National Chili Day and my wife is cooking some, I figured what better time to open up this bad boy!

Well, it turns out that I had nothing to worry about; the beer is delicious and I am drinking it as I type this! The smell and initial taste is, to me, classic Belgian (the yeast is their Belgian house strain) but after you swallow you get that pleasant, warming burn of the peppers. I’m interested to see how it goes with the chili that is simmering away on our stove…I’m betting that it will be a great combo.

Just a nice looking bottle:

IMG_2724

Here’s the description of the beer and the folks behind it:

IMG_2728

It’s great when a batch is small enough that there is handwriting on the bottle:

IMG_2725

My wife’s famous chili is just about ready:

IMG_2730

I’d love to stay and chat but I’ve got eating and drinking to do 🙂