Bissell Brothers

As a lover of hoppy beers, I have been waiting for the opportunity to try The Substance Ale by The Bissell Brothers Brewing Company. Well, this past Thursday I had my chance at the brewery and I was not disappointed; it is amazing and everything I look for in that style of beer! I was also able to score 12 cans from retailers in the Portland area and 8 are sitting in my beer fridge here at home as I type this…the other 4 never made it out of Maine. My wife and oldest daughter are also into hop bombs so that 4-pack didn’t stand a chance.

Noah (co-founder and head brewer) was hard at work when I arrived but stopped what he was doing and carved out a chunk of time to speak with me. His brother, Peter (co-founder and business/marketing director), was equally as humble and friendly when I spoke with him on the phone regarding my visit. Just really nice and down-to-earth people making outstanding beer. A trip to Bissell Brothers is a must!

Such a great logo:

IMG_3751

IMG_3752

A few shots of the inside tasting/retail area. They also have very cool outdoor seating but do you think I got a pic of it?

IMG_3758

IMG_3757

IMG_3764

View from the retail bar window:

IMG_3763

The 4-1-1:

IMG_3760

Words cannot do justice to how this tasted:

IMG_3759

Amen:

IMG_3761

Enjoying a can in my new glass back at the hotel:

IMG_3776

All of this talk about Bissell Brothers beer is making me mighty thirsty. I think I hear a can of Substance calling my name…

January 2015 visit:

IMG_4631

IMG_4632

IMG_4633

August 2015:

IMG_5501